• Aqua Books (1999-2012) is now permanently closed. This site is for posterity only. Thank you for everything.
  • Coming May 2014 -

274 Garry St.
(Between Portage
& Graham)

Winnipeg, MB
Canada  R3C 1H3

Tues-Sat 11am-9pm
Sun-Mon Closed


We accept Interac, Visa and Mastercard too

What people are saying:

I used to come into your bookstore all the time on Princess. Now I live in Tokyo. The sad part about living in Tokyo is that I can't eat at EAT!. I just wanted to congratulate you on your great success with Aqua! It sounds as though things are going really great for you, and the business/thought-fostering centre/restaurant establishment is the thing my dreams are made of. I think that the community that you are helping to foster in Winnipeg is inspiring. If I was still living in Winnipeg, I'd probably never leave your store (provided there's a public bathroom). Anyway, Aqua Books is probably the thing about Winnipeg I miss most. I loved walking from my apartment in the Exchange to your store on the weekends to wither away the hours. It always smelled good in there. Does the Garry St. location smell equally good? I bet it does. - Lauren U., Tokyo

The Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry Series

The Aqua Lansdowne is Manitoba's largest poetry prize. Based around the award and hosted in conjunction with the Writer's Collective, this series celebrates the best in Manitoba poetry. Congratulations to this year's winner, Ariel Gordon. For the history of the Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry/Prix Lansdowne de poésie click here, and for past readings click here.

Monday, April 23/12 7pm

2012 Nominees Méira Cook, J. R. Léveillé and Jennifer Still

Méira CookA Walker in the City is Méira Cook’s third book of poetry with Brick Books. The opening poem of this collection won first place in the 2006 CBC Literary Awards, and poems in this series were selected as part of the Poetry in Motion initiative. Her earlier books with Brick Books are Toward a Catalogue of Falling (1996) and Slovenly Love (2003). Méira Cook lives, writes, and walks in Winnipeg.

J.R. LéveilléNé à Winnipeg en 1945, J.R. Léveillé est l’auteur d’une vingtaine d’oeuvres (romans, poésie, essais) publiés au Manitoba, en Ontario, au Québec et en France. À la fin des années 1960, il entreprend des études de maîtrise et de doctorat en littérature française et a été boursier des gouvernements du Canada et de la France. De 1973 à 1980, il réside en Ontario et au Québec où il enseigne. En 1981, il revient au Manitoba et poursuit une carrière comme journaliste et réalisateur à Radio-Canada jusqu’en 2006. J.R. Léveillé a réalisé des portraits d’auteurs pour la télévision, dirigé des numéros spéciaux de revues littéraires et il est un conférencier invité à de nombreuses rencontres nationales et internationales. Il est directeur littéraire aux Éditions du Blé et siège au conseil du Winnipeg International Writers Festival. J.R. Léveillé est lauréat du Prix Champlain 2002 du Conseil de la Vie française en Amérique, ainsi que du Prix Rue-Deschambault 2003 de la province du Manitoba pour son roman, Le soleil du lac qui se couche; il a reçu le Prix littéraire du Manitoba français en 1994 pour sa poésie et le Prix du Consulat général de France à Toronto en 1997 pour l’ensemble de son oeuvre. En 1999, il fut intronisé au Temple de la renommée de la Culture au Manitoba pour sa contribution à la littérature et a été récipiendaire du Manitoba Lifetime Writing and Publishing Award en 2007. Un colloque international sur son oeuvre a eu lieu à Saint-Boniface en 2005.

Jennifer StillJennifer Still’s first collection of poems, Saltations, was nominated for three Saskatchewan Book Awards. Poems from her new collection Girlwood (Brick Books, 2011) were finalists in the 2008 CBC Literary Awards. After living her adult years until just recently in Saskatchewan, Jennifer now lives in Winnipeg with her husband and two children.

top of page

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Aqua Books Tumblelog Kelly Hughes Live! KHL!TV Writer-in-Residence BookWalk